Dec. 13, 2017, 7:51 p.m.
Extracted Keywords:

dublin city aung san suu kyi councillors rohingya myanmar

Stream Keywords: city dublin,kyi suu,aung dublin,aung suu,aung kyi,dublin kyi,kyi san,dublin suu,dublin san,aung san,san suu,councillors myanmar,myanmar rohingya,councillors rohingya

Councillors said they voted to rescind the award because of the Myanmar leader's failure to condemn atrocities reported against the Rohingya people.
The vote was 59 in favour with just two against and one abstention.
The vote followed public interventions by fellow recipients of the honour Bob Geldof and members of U2.
However, Mayor of Dublin Mícheál Mac Donncha (Sinn Féin) said the councillors' decision had "nothing to do with celebrities who fly in and fly out again".
Most of the councillors said they were voting to remove the honour because of Ms Suu Kyi's complicity in human right gets abuses.
Cllr Deirdre Heney (Fianna Fáil) said she hoped that this will focus minds in the future on who gets the award and how often the award is made.
Mr Geldof handed back his award in protest at Ms Suu Kyi continuing to have the same honour.

RTÉ News Special: Crisis in Myanmar
Aung San Suu Kyi: Peace icon image fades
Yesterday, the four members of U2 wrote to each councillor asking them to remove the honour from Myanmar’s leader.
Bono had previously been a public supporter of Ms Suu Kyi's efforts to bring democracy to the Asian nation where she was held under house arrest for a total of 15 years.
The council had asked their Protocol Committee to draw up a procedure after it was discovered there was no mechanism to remove the honour under current legislation.
A Fianna Fáil motion was also passed requiring a two thirds majority to remove an honorary freedom.